Zoho Invoice alternative

Zoho Invoice is free and global. Rebill is built for South Africa.

Both cost nothing to start. The difference is how your clients get the invoice and how they pay it: Rebill sends invoices over WhatsApp automatically and collects through Paystack, Yoco, PayFast and iKhokha, none of which Zoho Invoice supports.

Side-by-side comparison

Zoho Invoice facts were read from Zoho's own pages on 3 September 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page.

Rebill Zoho Invoice
Monthly price Free, or R99 Premium Free, US$0
Free plan 10 invoices a month, 5 clients 500 invoices a year, 2 users
WhatsApp delivery Built in, sent automatically Manual share only
Paystack, Yoco, PayFast, iKhokha All four None of the four
SARS tax invoices and VAT201 figures Yes Not stated
Full accounting No No
Client portal On every plan Yes
Recurring billing On Premium Yes
Where Rebill wins

Why South African businesses choose Rebill over Zoho Invoice

WhatsApp that actually sends

Zoho Invoice opens WhatsApp in a new tab and leaves you to press send, from your own account. Rebill sends the invoice itself, with a payment link in the message and automatic follow-ups. Premium includes 20 WhatsApp credits a month, then R0.30 a message.

The gateways your clients already use

Zoho Invoice lists Zoho Payments, Authorize.net, CSG Forte, Stripe, Square, Braintree, PayPal and Verifone. Not one of them is Paystack, Yoco, PayFast or iKhokha. Rebill supports all four, so online payments work with a South African card or instant EFT out of the box.

SARS-format tax invoices, not generic ones

Zoho Invoice says nothing about SARS or VAT201 anywhere on its South African pages. Rebill produces SARS-format tax invoices with gapless numbering and gives you the figures for a VAT201 return. You still file the return yourself.

No annual invoice ceiling

Zoho's free plan is capped at 500 invoices a year, two users and three projects, and Zoho says the invoice limit is reviewed every year. Rebill Premium is R99 a month with no annual invoice ceiling, and the free plan is 10 invoices a month while you get going. See what each plan includes.

Support in your time zone, from a local company

Rebill is built and run in Cape Town by Tora Technologies, so support answers during South African business hours and the product is shaped by what South African businesses ask for. Zoho Invoice is a global free product. It does publish a South African edition page, but that page names no South African payment gateway and says nothing about SARS or VAT201.

Where Zoho Invoice wins

When Zoho Invoice is the better choice

Free with a much higher invoice allowance

Zoho Invoice costs US$0 with no paid tier, and its free plan allows up to 500 invoices a year against Rebill's 10 a month on the free plan. If you send more than 10 invoices a month and will not pay R99, Zoho gives you more for nothing.

Global gateways for clients outside Africa

If you bill in the United States or Europe, Stripe, Square, Braintree, PayPal, Authorize.net and Verifone cover far more of the world than the South African gateways Rebill focuses on. For a business whose clients are mostly offshore, that reach matters more than local ones do.

The rest of the Zoho suite

Zoho Invoice sits next to Zoho CRM, Zoho Books, Zoho Billing and dozens of other Zoho apps on one login. If your business already runs on Zoho, keeping invoicing inside that suite is worth something no standalone tool can match.

A growth path into full accounting

Neither Rebill nor Zoho Invoice is double-entry accounting software. Zoho's answer when you outgrow invoicing is Zoho Books or Zoho Billing on the same account. With Rebill you would add accounting software or an accountant alongside it.

Choose Rebill if you are...

  • Invoicing South African clients who pay by local card or instant EFT
  • Chasing payment on WhatsApp and tired of doing it by hand
  • VAT registered and needing SARS-format tax invoices and VAT201 figures
  • Happy to pay R99 a month to stop invoicing being a chore

Choose Zoho Invoice if you are...

  • Billing clients outside Africa who pay through Stripe or PayPal
  • Determined to pay nothing at all, and fine with the 500 invoice a year limit
  • Already running Zoho CRM, Zoho Books or the wider Zoho suite
  • Content to send invoices by email and share to WhatsApp yourself

Quick answer

Is Rebill a good Zoho Invoice alternative in South Africa?

For a South African business, yes. Zoho Invoice and Rebill both have a free plan, so price is not the deciding factor: Zoho Invoice costs US$0 with limits of 500 invoices a year, two users and three projects, while Rebill is free for 10 invoices a month and R99 a month on Premium. The deciding factor is the local layer. Checked on 3 September 2026, Zoho Invoice's payment gateways are Zoho Payments, Authorize.net, CSG Forte, Stripe, Square, Braintree, PayPal and Verifone, none of which is Paystack, Yoco, PayFast or iKhokha, so a South African client cannot pay a Zoho invoice with the local card or instant EFT method they normally use. Zoho Invoice can share an invoice to WhatsApp, but it opens WhatsApp in a new tab for you to press send from your own account, and it offers no automated WhatsApp reminder. Zoho's South African pages say nothing about SARS tax invoices or VAT201. Rebill sends invoices over WhatsApp automatically with a payment link, supports all four South African gateways, and produces SARS-format tax invoices and VAT201 figures. Neither product is double-entry accounting software. Zoho Invoice remains the better choice for a business billing mostly offshore clients, for anyone who refuses to pay anything and stays under 500 invoices a year, and for a business already standardised on the Zoho suite.

Frequently asked questions

Is Zoho Invoice really free?
Yes. Zoho Invoice costs US$0 and has no paid tier. Checked on 3 September 2026, its pricing page states that you can add up to two users, create a maximum of three projects, and send up to 500 invoices per year, and Zoho notes that the invoice limit is reviewed every year. Invoices carry Powered by Zoho Invoice branding. Rebill also has a free plan, capped at 10 invoices a month, 5 clients, 5 quotes a month, 4 catalogue items and 20 expenses, with Premium at R99 a month.
Does Zoho Invoice work with Paystack, Yoco, PayFast or iKhokha?
No. Checked on 3 September 2026, the payment gateways Zoho Invoice lists are Zoho Payments, Authorize.net, CSG Forte, Stripe, Square, Braintree, PayPal and Verifone. None of Paystack, Yoco, PayFast or iKhokha is among them, and the South African edition page names only bank transfers, cards, PayPal and e-wallets. Rebill supports Paystack, Yoco, PayFast and iKhokha, so a South African client can pay from the invoice with the card or EFT method they already use.
Can Zoho Invoice send invoices on WhatsApp?
Only as a manual share. Zoho Invoice prepares the message, then opens WhatsApp in a new tab for you to press send yourself, and Zoho states that the message is sent from the WhatsApp account you are logged into on your device. There is no automated send, no automated WhatsApp reminder and no WhatsApp payment link. Rebill sends the invoice over WhatsApp itself, with a payment link in the message, and follows up automatically. Premium includes 20 WhatsApp credits a month and messages cost R0.30 after that.
Does Zoho Invoice handle SARS tax invoices and VAT201?
Not stated on their site as of 3 September 2026. South Africa appears in Zoho Invoice's edition selector, but neither the South African edition page nor the features page mentions SARS, VAT201 or South African VAT rules. Rebill produces SARS-format tax invoices with sequential numbering and gives you the figures you need for a VAT201 return. Rebill does not submit the return to SARS eFiling; you or your accountant still file it.
Should I choose Rebill or Zoho Invoice?
Choose Zoho Invoice if you bill clients outside Africa, you are happy collecting through Stripe or PayPal, and you already use other Zoho products. Choose Rebill if your clients are South African, because Rebill sends invoices over WhatsApp automatically, collects through Paystack, Yoco, PayFast and iKhokha, and produces SARS-format tax invoices and VAT201 figures. Both have a free plan, so the real question is where your clients are and how they pay.

Competitor facts on this page were checked on 3 September 2026 against the sources below. Prices and features change; tell us at [email protected] if something is out of date.

Related comparisons

Try Rebill free, no commitment needed

Start with a free account. Upgrade to Premium at R99 a month whenever you want, with a 14-day trial. No credit card required.

Last reviewed: . Reviewed by Nico Huysamen, Founder & Director, Tora Technologies. Cape Town, South Africa.